Staff

1.1.4 Alison Cairns cropped.jpg
1.1.4 Graeme Bowman Cropped.JPG
Alison Cairns

Chief Executive

I’ve been running the organisation since 2002 and have seen many changes. I work with the Board on strategy and policy and oversee our services and activities. I’ve recently added a more hands on role as a Self- Management Training facilitator. Outside of work I’m a Girls’ Brigade leader and support Glasgow Warriors rugby.
 
e: alisonc@bipolarscotland.org.uk
t: 0141 560 2050
Graeme Bowman

Development Officer

I’ve been working with Bipolar Scotland since 2015 and a lot of my work focuses on supporting our self-help groups. I recruit and train facilitators, find venues, publicise the groups and start up two new groups per year. I cycle and write history books in my spare time.
 
e: graemeb@bipolarscotland.org.uk
t: 0141 560 2050
1.1.4 Lesley Fyfe Cropped.jpg
Lesley Fyfe
Administrator
I volunteered for Bipolar Scotland before becoming an Administrator in 2016. I deal with email and telephone enquiries and update the membership database. I was diagnosed with Bipolar Disorder in 1989.
 
e: lesleyf@bipolarscotland.org.uk
t: 0141 560 2050
Cliff web profile upload.jpg
image_edited.jpg
Image from iOS (6).jpg
Cliff Watt
Head of Development
cliffm@bipolarscotland.org.uk

Ashley McCrae

Head of Fundraising

ashleym@bipolarscotland.org.uk

Ross Macfadyen

Head of Communications

rossm@bipolarscotland.org.uk

Maja.jpg
Image from iOS (1).jpg
Maja Mitchell-Grigorjeva 
Development Officer

majam@bipolarscotland.org.uk

Jamie Taylor 
Communications Assistant

jamiet@bipolarscotland.org.uk

Lauren.jpg
Lauren McQuade
Peer Support Worker
I am really excited to join the Peer Support team. Peer support was really transformative in my own journey - a turning point in my recovery.  If I can provide such meaningful support to others I’ll be very happy! Outside of BPS, I also work as a Mental Wellbeing coach specialising in self-compassion and I have my own weekly radio show on Stirling City Radio! On my time off I love wild swimming, travelling and eating out. 
e: laurenm@bipolarscotland.org.uk
t: 0141 560 2050
graham c.jpg
Graham Caie
Peer Support Worker

I have been volunteering with Bipolar Scotland since 2018 where I have been involved in updating and delivering the Self-Management Training around Scotland. I have now recently joined an amazing team within Bipolar Scotland on a part time basis, we are involved in developing and delivering the exciting new Peer Led Initiative project. I have a diagnosis of bipolar type 1 which I manage with medication and self-management strategies.

I am currently studying for a BEng (hons) Mechanical and Offshore Engineering and in my much-limited spare time, I enjoy hillwalking, mountain biking and playing golf.

e: grahamc@bipolarscotland.org.uk
t: 0141 560 2050
IMG_4995.jpg
Helen Bashforth
Peer Support Worker
My role within Bipolar Scotland is Peer Support Worker which means helping devise and run this exciting new pilot project and working directly with peers to help facilitate their recovery. Peer support is something I’m exceptionally passionate about and wish I had available to me at various points in my own recovery. I hope that through working in this project, myself and my team members will be able to make a positive impact on the lives of our peers with Bipolar Disorder. When not working for Bipolar Scotland, I also work for a growing tech start up and spend my free time on the mat advancing my yoga practice, baking and cooking or hillwalking.
e: helenb@bipolarscotland.org.uk
t: 0141 560 2050